RBC accepted by Argonne National Laboratory as affiliate to Joint Center for Energy Storage Research

October 22, 2018

Chicago (Oct. 22, 2018) – The national nonprofit Responsible Battery Coalition (RBC) has been accepted as an affiliate member of the Joint Center for Energy Storage Research (JCESR), led by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Argonne National Laboratory.JCESR, just renewed by the U.S. Department of Energy for another five years, created an affiliate program that brings together small and large businesses, nonprofits, universities and national laboratories to further promote public-private partnerships. The stakeholder organizations are involved in electrical energy storage, ranging from chemical and material manufacturers to battery system integrators and testers. As new technologies are developed and needs identified, affiliates have the opportunity to engage with the research to accelerate innovation.Steve Christensen, executive director of the RBC, said this affiliation “will greatly enhance the promising work we have planned with Argonne National Laboratory on energy storage and batteries used today and being developed for tomorrow. We are very fortunate to be able to deepen our collaboration with the national energy labs and contribute to solutions for global energy needs in transportation and other sectors.”Dr. George Crabtree, director of JCESR, said the affiliate program “is a great way for us to work together with industry and other stakeholders to identify opportunities for innovation and improvements in the battery lifecycle. The addition of the Responsible Battery Coalition, representing multiple stakeholders in the battery lifecycle, adds significant value to JCESR and our evolving energy innovation Hub.”# # #Responsible Battery Coalition is a coalition of companies, academics and organizations committed to the responsible management of the batteries of today and tomorrow. RBC was created in April 2017 to advance the responsible production, transport, sale, use, reuse, recycling and resource recovery of transportation, industrial and stationary batteries and other energy storage devices. Current members are Johnson Controls, Ford Motor Co., O’Reilly Auto Parts, LafargeHolcim, Canadian Energy, Walmart, Honda Motor Co., AutoZone, Club Car, Advance Auto Parts, FedEx Express, Renova Energy, Battery Solutions and TerraCycle. Website: https://www.responsiblebatterycoalition.org/List of Argonne National Laboratory JCESR Affiliates: https://www.jcesr.org/partnerships/affiliates/